College Gallery

Board of Governors

Board of Governors Information

Northern Lakes College Board of Governors are committed to the academic, financial, and social well-being of the College and post-secondary education. Governors are critical in ensuring the College continues on the path of ensuring accessibility, affordability, and community representation within our vast service region and are ambassadors in promoting the programs and courses offered by the College.​  

The Board of Governors provides oversight of Northern Lakes College by acting with effective governance structures and processes. Northern Lakes College operates under the authority of the Post-Secondary Learning Act and is responsible to the Office of the Minister of Advanced Education.

The Board of Governors shall manage and operate the public post-secondary institution in accordance with its mandate [PSLA Section 60(1) (a)].
The Board of Governors, with authority through the Post-Secondary Learning Act to:

  • establish admission requirements and public rules with respect to enrolment and programs [PSLA Section 60 (1) (c) & (d)],
  • determine tuition fees and mandatory non-instruction fees to be paid by students [PSLA Section 61], and 
  • delegate in writing, duties or functions set out in the PSLA, except bylaws [PSLA Section 62].

The Post-Secondary Learning Act [Section 44(2)] legislates the appointment of Northern Lakes College 12 governors and consists of the following:

Appointed by the Minister of Advanced Education:

  • one academic staff member nominated by the academic staff association,
  • two students nominated by the council of the students association, and 
  • one member of the non-academic staff who is not engaged in the administration of the college nominated by the non-academic staff association

Appointed by Lieutenant Governor in Council:

  • seven public members, one of whom shall be designated chairperson

Automatic appointment:

  • The President of the comprehensive community college

Current Public Agency Board Opportunities can be found here: Government of Alberta - Current Opportunities

Members of the Board of Governors:

  • Barry Sharkawi, Public Member (Chair)
  • Lana Daniels, Public Member (Vice Chair)
  • Dr. Glenn Mitchell, Ex-Officio/President & CEO 
  • Barb Hatch, Public 
  • Darrell Ghostkeeper, Public 
  • Lucille Labrecque, Public 
  • Treena Ward, Public 
  • Nancy Giese, Academic​ 
  • Kyle Paulson, Non-Academic
  • Adele Suderman, Student 
  • Travis Sharron, Student 
  • Vacant, Public

Should you have any questions or would like more information on joining our Board of Governors, please direct your correspondence to:
     Tracey Solcan, GPC.D
     Executive Assistant
     Tel: (780) 849-8707 or